Review

[REVIEW] Etude House Peel Off Base Coat

I’m back with another review~ ^^ It’s been quite a long time since the last review, right? I was out of my regular Etude House base coat, and I noticed this new peel off base coat, also from Etude House. The name got my attention, so I just ordered this from an online seller. I waited for like a month to receive this. Can it really be peeled off? Read my review below~ ^^

Etude House Peel Off Base Coat
Etude House Peel Off Base Coat

The packaging of this base coat is a different from my usual base coat. This looks more chubby and I think it has more products in it. And I was right. My older edition of Etude House nail polish only has 7-8 ml, and this has 10 ml ^^ But the new packaging for Etude House nail polish also comes in this kind of packaging (except the Ice Cream line, of course). I also bought a regular base coat from Etude House, but no need to make a review for that, right? xD

The back side of the bottle
The back side of the bottle

The back side has this paper tag which you can take off (yep, and i don’t lol) It says that this peel off base coat is intended for glittery nail polish so you don’t have to be pissed off trying to remove it with a remover. I did try this for regular polish, but they seem to be easier to chip than when I’m using regular base coat. So I don’t really recommend this as a base for regular nail polish. Oh and you can’t peel the regular polish off, too. It will chip into small parts.

My bare and not-so-pretty nails
My bare and not-so-pretty nails
After application, wait for it to completely dry!
After application, wait for it to completely dry!

The photo on top is my bare nails and the bottom one is after applying the peel off base coat. It dries off to a matte finish. I wonder if I can use this as a matte top coat.. I will try it later and let you girls know ^^ You’re supposed to wait for 5 minutes until it’s completely dry. If it didn’t dry completely before you apply your glittery nail polish, it will be hard to peel afterwards.

Since it's said for glitter nail polish and I don't have any at the moment, I used this ultra shimmering silver instead ^^
Since it’s said for glitter nail polish and I don’t have any at the moment, I used this ultra shimmering silver instead ^^

Since I don’t have any glittery nail polish, I tried it with this ultra shimmery silver nail polish. I put 1 coat of the peel off base coat and 2 coats of the silver. I don’t apply top coat, because I normally don’t use one. You need to wait until the coats are completely dry. You can know by using your nail to tap the nail polish. If it has dried completely, it will leave no battle scar xD So, can it really be peeled off?

The shimmering silver nail polish can actually be peeled!
The shimmering silver nail polish can actually be peeled!

Yup! I succeeded peeling one of the 2 off! The other one hasn’t completely dried and it didn’t peel off as good as the one on the photo above. It peeled like you’re peeling off dried glue on your nails. Oh you’re supposed to peel it from the bottom end of your nails (the side where it meets your flesh) to the top. Don’t apply the base coat too thick, or it will take a lot of time to dry.

Positive sides

  • Really works as a peel off base coat
  • Only need a thin coat
  • Doesn’t smell too strong
  • Contains a lot of products
  • Cheap! I got it only for IDR 35,000 from Poppen Huis

Negative sides

  • Only works for glittery nail polish
  • Need a relatively long time to dry completely (5 minutes) but I don’t really mind~

Rating : ♥♥♥♥ 5/5

Will I repurchase this? Yes! Also some glittery nail polish because now I can just peel them off! LOL

Have any of you tried any peel off base coat? Does it work? Let me know in the comment section below and I will see you all in the next post! ^^

4 thoughts on “[REVIEW] Etude House Peel Off Base Coat

  1. cooool!!! you right, i always pissed off everytime i try to remove my glittery nail polish with aceton, it just won’t come off grrr
    great review, sher 😀 i definitely get this one ^.^

Leave a Reply

