Review

[Review] Urban Decay Naked Basics Eyeshadow Palette

Hello again my lovely readers! FINALLY, I’m back with another review post for Urban Decay Naked Basics palette! I know I’m late with the hype, but hey, better late than never, right? *winkwink* I got this palette as a gift from my lovely cousin. She actually wanted to get me the Naked palette (yes, the first one) but she can’t find it in Singapore. All Sephoras in SG ran out of them. They only have this, and the Naked 3 (only like… 3 left!). She knows that I am craving for the Naked palette although I told her not to get it because it’s freaking expensive! However, I am really really thankful that she gave me this one instead! 😀 *sending love signals to her*

Urban Decay naked Basics Eyeshadow Palette

Okay, down to the review!

Let’s start with the packaging first. This palette is inside a quite thick paper box, and the palette is plastic. BUT the plastic is different from all plastic packaging that I have. This plastic packaging feels….expensive LOL But I think they have rubber combined in the packaging as well because it feels a little rubbery. The words are like embossed on the top. The colour is the closest to Sepia (refer to Wikipedia’s Shades of brown) but a little bit lighter. The packaging is quite study, and I think it’s quite heavy for a 6 colour palette.

Urban Decay Naked Basics Eyeshadow Palette

Behind the box, they put a preview of the colours inside. I found this is the closest colour with the eyeshadows in real life. They put a short description in 2 languages up there and the name of the colours. They also write the ingredients!

Urban Decay Naked Basics Eyeshadow Palette

On the bottom of the palette, they wrote the shelf life, their tag line “beauty with an edge”, their address in US, their website, the amount of products (6x 1.3 grams), and the origin of the palette. They also stamped a serial number which is illegible on my palette LOL

Urban Decay Naked Basics Eyeshadow Palette

The opening is a cut out like on the photo above. I have to say it takes a little work to open this palette, but I prefer that than having my palette opening up by itself. It “clicks” everytime you successfully open and close the palette.

What did you said? Enough of the packaging? Okay, okay fineeee let’s open it!

Urban Decay Naked Basics Eyeshadow Palette

Jjajjaaaaaaan~~!! It has a big, full size mirror attached to the lid. The mirror is crystal clear! But the mirror is not the highlight here! Look at how beautiful the colours are! We are presented with 6 neutral eyeshadow colours, 3 lighter colours and 3 darker colours.

Let’s take a closer look!

Urban Decay Naked Basics Eyeshadow Palette

In the palette, Venus is the one with obvious shimmer. The shimmer is smaller than the one in NYX Love in Rio. Foxy has tiny little shimmer (reaaaaally tiny and just a few), while Walk Of Shame (W.O.S), Naked 2, and Faint are matte eyeshadows. Crave has tiny little shimmer just like Foxy.

I fell in love with all the colours upon the first glance! Venus is totally a highlight colour for me. I can’t describe which colour it’s in but to me it looks like off white with tiny hint of yellow and a lot of tiny shimmer. Foxy is a yellow undertone eyeshadow, kinda looks like a colour for your powder. Walk of Shame is the pale pink undertone version of Foxy. Naked 2 is a light dusty brown (or taupe?) colour I guess, and Faint is a deeper taupe. Crave? Well, do I really need to explain this colour? It’s a gorgeous deep black colour which can’t go wrong!

Urban Decay Naked Basics Eyeshadow Palette

To make it easier to you, I took some photos for the swatch. The swatches are done on the inside on my wrist in a natural lighting. W.O.S is surprisingly the colour that matches my skintone the most (without lighting). My favorite colour/s? Actually I love all of them. I tried pricking some colours but I feel bad for not picking the others.

I used this palette the first time on Chinese New Year. I finished my makeup around…. 9AM? And I got home at about 6PM and the eyeshadow didn’t crease! They just stay the way they were earlier. They are so creamy and I experience no fall out. They blend easily and….. what else? Oh, and I have to admit that Urban Decay IS better than NYX. Don’t get me wrong, my NYX is good, but this is better 🙂

Positive sides

  • So creamy, no fall-outs
  • A good combination of matte and shimmer
  • My go-to palette for a no makeup look
  • A must have palette for the neutral/natural makeup lovers out there
  • No creasing although I don’t prime my oily lids properly
  • Blends easily
  • Have a slight powdery flowery scent, which you won’t even realize except if you smell it right from the pan LOL

Negative sides

  • I can’t think of anything! Even the price is not that expensive after seeing the performance and quality of this palette!

Rating : ♄♄♄♄♄ 5/5

Will I repurchase this? YES! There is no reason for me not to repurchase.

Have you tried the Naked Basics palette? Do you like it, hate it, or want it? Share it in the comments down below! I will be back soon with a surprise post for Valentine’s Day! Thank you for reading, and see you soon! ♄

2 thoughts on “[Review] Urban Decay Naked Basics Eyeshadow Palette

Leave a Reply

