Review

[Review] Tony Moly Backstage Gel Eyeliner in #02 Brown

Hellooooo~Β Are you guys wondering why I’m here again this week? I’ve decided to make this week a productive week for my blog! I feel bad for only posting 5 posts a month. From now on, let’s hope that I can reach at least 10 posts per month with beauty related posts ^_^

Here is my promised post since… 2 posts ago? I promised to review a gel eyeliner, and I decided to try out the highly raved Tony Moly Backstage Gel Liner! This is actually my first pot-gel-eyeliner and I have another gel liner in pencil type from Holika Holika. Okay, let’s just dig in into the review!

 

Instead of buying the black one which everyone reviewed already, I decided to go for a softer look with the color #02 Brown πŸ˜€ I already have a lot of black eyeliners and I wanted to try other colors, so this brown color will be my first other-than-black eyeliner!

Tony Moly Backstage Gel Eyeliner

Tony Moly Backstage Gel Eyeliner Look at how many colors they offer! I almost squeal when I see the bright colors! I think the Tony Moly here doesn’t have those bright colors here when I bought it. But they do have almost all the darker colors ^_^ Oh and it’s a Buy 1 Get 1 promotion so of course I grab it!

 

Tony Moly Backstage Gel Eyeliner in #02 BrownThe packaging is kinda cute. The jar is transparent and circular, made of plastic instead of glass. The rest of the packaging is black, and gets smaller on the top. It’s simple, and kinda classy for my eyes. It’s all plastic, but doesn’t look or feel cheap IMO.

 

Tony Moly Backstage Gel Eyeliner in #02 BrownSo, that long part can be taken off and it is a brush! It is practical, but it takes a lot of space in my pouch. But this means I will never forget to bring a brush along πŸ˜€ The brush can be adjusted from short to long, simply by twisting it a little and pull it, then twist it a bit until it’s steady.

Let’s take a closer look on the brush!

 

Tony Moly Backstage Gel Eyeliner in #02 BrownThe brush is a flat, kinda wide eyeliner brush. It is quite stiff, but Etude House’s gel eyeliner brush is a lot stiffer. I prefer Etude House brush than this, but this is okay for emergency.

 

Tony Moly Backstage Gel Eyeliner in #02 BrownThe black lid is a twist off type. After you take off the black lid, you will see a white protective lid that cover your gel liner. This is to prevent the gel liner to dry too quickly. And calm down, you gel liner will have no dent on it like mine. I forgot to take photo of it when it’s new, so I got no other options~ LOL

 

Tony Moly Backstage Gel Eyeliner in #02 BrownThe first photo is the swatch color on my wrist. It is a deep brown. It is water proof, but not smudge proof until it dries completely. The second picture is what happened when I smudge it with my index finger. I tried to kinda rub it the way I rub my eyes, and it smears a bit. Well, quite Β a lot. But I think that happens because it’s a little thick and not completely dry yet.

 

Here’s a swatch on my eyes!

Tony Moly Backstage Gel Eyeliner in #02 BrownCan you see the brown gel liner? If you want, you can also use this as a smudge liner. Just apply a bit, then smudge it with another clean brush and you’ll get the gradation effect. I suggest to work in small sections so you will get an even result ^_^ My eyes look a lot softer with this brown eyeliner even with the same line thickness and line style~ Woooo~

 

And now, some selca time in different lighting! Looks like I gotΒ too excited when I’m filling my brows LOL

Tony Moly Backstage Gel Eyeliner in #02 Brown

 

20140421_153947

20140421_153937

 

 

 

Positive sides

  • I got it REALLY CHEAP, it costs IDR 109,000 for 2! That means only IDR 50,000 ish for one!
  • Water proof
  • Need quite a while to dry if you apply thick layer
  • Smudge proof after it dries, that means it’s also smudge-able
  • Soft consistency, easy to heat up with my hand
  • Cute packaging, doesn’t look cheap
  • I like how they attach a brush along
  • Has a lot of color choice!

Negative sides

  • Is not smudge proof until it completely dries
  • Take a lot of space in the pouch

Rating :Β β™₯β™₯β™₯β™₯β€’ 4.8/5

Will I repurchase this? Yep, got no reasons not to repurchase this. But not in Brown color, I want to try another color. But currently I’m looking for liquid liners, so I will buy myself a liquid liner first ^_^

 

So have you tried the highly raved Tony Moly Backstage Gel Eyeliner? Do you want to try it? Or maybe you prefer another gel liner? Tell me in the comment section below~ This is the end of this post! I will see you guys again in the next post. I’m thinking of a lip tint review~ Thank you for reading, and see you on the next post! πŸ˜€

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “[Review] Tony Moly Backstage Gel Eyeliner in #02 Brown

  1. Great review. I just picked up a gel liner by revlon and liked it so I’ve been interested in trying some other brands. I will definitely check this one out!

  2. OMG how lucky of you for getting this eyeliner with supa dupa cheap price!! >.<
    don't worry sher, your brows still look pretty ❀
    love the color while I love mine in black hahaha but I haven't cleaned the brush not even once! the eyeliner clumped really badly on the brush now lol
    thanks for the review~! stay pretty πŸ˜€

    1. Yepppp, I am surprised that this thing also included in the promotion! But it’s not fresh product, though.
      I also have never cleaned the brush HAHAHA Too lazy to do it, even though I do clean all my other brushes. I just grab a clean gel liner brush and use that for this haha
      You stay pretty too, Cel ❀

  3. wow, it looks nice on you ^^
    I want to buy it too bcoz so many good reviews about it. but I don’t know which color that will suit on my monolid eyes, the black one or the brown. btw, where did you get that promotion? it’s super cheap and you got two colors, lucky you πŸ˜€

    1. Hellooooo~
      First, sorry for the late reply T_T My internet connection keeps going on and off until today.
      I got the promotion at the store when it had 50% off! I think they do promotion and discounts quite often πŸ˜€

    1. Hello ^_^

      Bisa dibeli di counter Tony Moly (aku beli di Mall Taman Anggrek pas lagi 50% discount). Harga gel liner ini di counter ga beda jauh sama online shop, jadi aku lebih prefer beli di counter aja biar bisa coba2 warnanya dan nungguin discount hihi ^_^

Leave a Reply

