Review

[Review] Etude House Surprise Essence Concealer in Natural Beige

Hi lovely readers! First of all, Happy Mid-week! Only 2 more days until the next long weekend, so keep the spirit up! I am keeping my spirit up too, so I will try to make the last half of this month be as productive as I can πŸ˜€ I promised you 7 review posts for this month, and I already did 3 with this one, so 4 more to go! ^_^

 

My first concealer ever. This month I find myself trying out new make up Β and skin care products that I have never tried before, like the Like 20 Skincare Kit and this concealer and more to follow. I’ve been in need of a concealer for quite long but somehow indecisive of which one to try for the first time. I finally decided to buy this Etude House concealer to start with. I don’t hope for any full coverage from this, just enough to cover my acne scars.

But hey, I’m kinda impressed! Let’s dig right in!

 

 

Etude House Surprise Essence Concealer in #2 Natural BeigeOh, by the way, do you like my new background for the product shots? I’m kinda tired of the super plain and not interesting background so I decided to add some fluffiness to (hopefully) make it looks better.

Etude House Surprise Essence Concealer comes in 2 shade, #1 Light Beige and #2 Natural Beige. Of course I bought the Natural Beige because I’m not that fair skinned and this will suit my skin tone more πŸ˜€ The packaging is made of plastic and the cap is a twist off type. The cap is baby pink and the tube that holds the product is transparent with pink swirls printed on it. It looks feminine but simple, and still pretty!

 

Etude House Surprise Essence Concealer in #2 Natural BeigeIt has no directions or box, but it’s sealed with plastic wrap all over. And the silver sticker on the cap, it actually extends to the bottle, so if yours are sealed, then it’s brand new ^_^ Although the price is awesomely cheap, the product doesn’t feel that cheap. It doesn’t feel expensive either, it just…. looks a bit more expensive that it actually is.

 

Etude House Surprise Essence Concealer in #2 Natural BeigeThe applicator is a wand applicator. It picks up just the right amount to cover the dark circles on both eyes and the acne scars in one cheek for me. But don’t worry, even if you have a clear face you won’t put on too much of this on your problem areas. The wand is soft, and the shape is so cute! It’s easy to control the amount of products so you won’t waste your concealer.

Next, the swatch on my dark circles and cheeks. It will be some kind of gross because it’s kinda being zoomed in. You will see my bare face (only skincare is applied) but I have no huge acnes at the moment so it won’t be too gross LOL

 

 

Etude House Surprise Essence Concealer in #2 Natural BeigeThe one on the top is the BEFORE picture. You can see that my dark circles are quite bad, and one side is darker than the other. Trust me, it actually looks like that. It’s not shadow or lighting effects or anything. I applied along the dark circles and let it sit for 1 minute, then blend it with my fingers. The result can be seen in the 3rd picture. Sorry for the out of focusΒ picture 😦 The last time I checked, it’s not out of focus T_T

You can see that this concealer can’t cover my dark circles completely, but it does make them less noticeable. And I can top it with BB cream or another layer of concealer if I want to~

 

Etude House Surprise Essence Concealer in #2 Natural BeigeAbove is the picture of my right cheek. I have some acne scars, dark spots, and a recent acne scar (the one with black spot in the middle and redness around it, near the letter B of my watermark). I applied the concealer, and on the 3rd picture those flaws are less noticeable. It covers my redness quite well, too!

 

Etude House Surprise Essence Concealer in #2 Natural BeigeNow let’s go to my left cheek. I also have the same flaws on this side, along with the recent acne scar. After blending in the concealer, well of course it looks better. I am actually very happy with the result. It does cover up the lighter spots and redness although it doesn’t work that well on my dark circles. It doesn’t cake up, doesn’t oxidize, and doesn’t break me out!

Now, some pictures of me, wearing only skincare and concealer on my face. No primer, no BB/CC cream, no filter, and no editing. It doesn’t look fabulous so don’t expect too much LOL

Etude House Surprise Essence Concealer in #2 Natural Beige

Etude House Surprise Essence Concealer in #2 Natural Beige

 

 

Positive sides

  • CHEAP! Only IDR 65,000 for 6 grams of product
  • Doesn’t oxidize
  • Doesn’t break me out
  • Doesn’t sink into lines
  • Feels light on the face
  • Medium coverage, buildable
  • Great for redness and acne scars
  • A bit of flowery scent
  • Cute wand applicator picks up the right amount of product
  • Cute and simple packaging

Negative sides

  • Doesn’t work for dark circles. This is not the function of the concealer, though. They have another concealer to handle those dark circles, which I am interested to buy :p

Rating :Β β™₯β™₯β™₯β™₯β™₯ 5/5 because it does the job

Will I repurchase this? YEP, this is great for daily use because it feels light even with medium coverage. And I do use it daily because it’s super cheap!

 

Have you tried the Etude House concealers? Or do you already have your own HG concealer? Tell me in the comments ^_^

Oh in case you didn’t notice, this month’s posts will be up on regular schedule every Monday, Wednesday, and Friday. Only for this month! I will try to keep the posts scheduled in regular basis for next month too, so please keep supporting me πŸ˜€ Thank you for reading and see you on Friday! ❀~

 

 

 

 

 

 

12 thoughts on “[Review] Etude House Surprise Essence Concealer in Natural Beige

  1. heard so many raving about this concealer and I’m kinda in the need for a new concealer for my acne scars….this concealer does seem good!!! πŸ˜€
    but still ‘galau’ whether should i choose the liquid or the stick one :/
    your skin doesn’t look that bad, sher ^_^ mine is worse LOL

    1. If you have dry skin, go for the stick one, Jess. I read it somewhere, though hahaha
      I’m curious with western brand concealers, but then there are so maaaany brands to choose from T_T
      My skin does look bad, Jess. It’s just because my crappy front camera that my skin looks better XD

  2. aku pake ini juga gabisa buat dark circles T__T tapi ga rugi sih soalnya punya acel *eh? lol
    klo buat cover dark circles bagusnya pake apa sher? >,<

    1. wkwkwk asik ya cel bisa minjem dulu buat cobain XD
      Kayaknya kl dark circle nya udah parah kayak kita gini mesti pake yg warna salmon deh cel. Si Etude jg ada concealer kit yg khusus buat dark circle. Yg isinya 2 warna itu loh, yg 1 rada oren, 1 lg rada kuning πŸ˜€

    1. What? I’m really sorry to hear that. Don’t worry, it’s probably her loss, not yours.
      Cheer up, dude! There are still a lot of people who will appreciate you ^_^
      Feel free to contact me via email if you just need a stranger to talk to. I know it sounds weird and creepy, but I know some people prefer talking to strangers who doesn’t know any single thing about themselves.

  3. Hi there! πŸ™‚ I just but Etude House Surprise Essence concealer yesterday and I’m a bit hesistant to use it because what I’m really using is the stick version of the concealer. Unfortunately, the stick is out of stock and Etude here in the Philippines the they will prolly restock on February. Anyhoo, may I know if this concealer is good for oily skin? Thanks much! πŸ™‚

    1. Hi πŸ™‚ Thank you, I’m glad that you find my blog kinda useful hehe
      It’s okay for oily skin. Not the best one, but it doesn’t cake on me. I notice that this concealer is not that good for my dark circles because it sinks to my fine lines 😦 But for covering everything else, this one’s good enough as long as you don’t apply a thick layer ^_^ It’s better to put thin layers than one thick layer~

Leave a Reply

