Review

[Review] SK II Facial Treatment Clear Lotion

Who doesn’t know SK II? It’s one of Japan’s most famous brand and I believe everyone have seen their commercials on TV at least once. A lot of people are putting SK II Facial Treatment Essence (FTE) as one of their HG skincare and I read some blogs that claim this brand help them to achieve crystal clear skin.

However, I feel like all the attentions are going to their FTE and the Facial Treatment Clear Lotion (FTCL) doesn’t get the praise it deserves. I know the FTE contains 90% of Pitera inside each bottle and all the advertisements are aired to gain people interest to the FTE, but they really need to start making a commercial for the FTCL.

 

Here is a little background story. By far, I have tried 2 tones. My first toner is from the Clinique 3 Step, the one in pinky purply color. It did fine, didn’t break me out, but my face felt dry after I swipe it on my face. Then I try another toner from Skin Food, the Tomato Whitening Toner. This doesn’t work for me. It breaks me out although it didn’t dry out my face. I will probably try this toner again after I got rid of all this nasty acne. Then I decided not to use any toners for a year.

I bought my mom a set of SK II for her birthday last year because I hate how she keeps using O*** and I can’t see any improvements. The set is just consist of a bottle of the FTE, a 40 ml bottle of FTCL and a mask. I didn’t try it at that time. I decided to ask my mom to give me the 30 ml FTCL that she got for the 2nd purchase of the set (she LOVES it!). I said I want to try but I don’t want to try the FTE because I’m afraid I might break out. So she did, and I’ve been using this FTCL for a good one month, 2-3 times a day.

This effective toning lotion with a mix of AHA and Pitera exfoliates dead skin cells and impurities. Its clarifying formula prepares the face for the rest of your skincare regimen.
Texture:
Light and watery, this toning lotion penetrates into the skin surface.
AT A GLANCE:
An effective toner removes dirt and exfoliates old skin cells, preparing the face for the rest of your skincare regimen.
How to use: Soak a cotton pad and start by wiping your T-Zone, concentrating on oily areas. Continue wiping from the chin towards the jawline and cheeks. Finish by wiping the neck from the bottom to the top. Avoid eye area. Use morning and night after cleansing.

 

Now, hop to the review!

SK II Facial Treatment Clear LotionThe mini bottle that I got is made of clear, frosty transparent white plastic. The cap is made of plastic, but with mirror finish. The mini FTCL bottle that my mom has is made of frosty transparent white glass, though. Mine contains 30 ml, while my mom’s contain 40 ml. Although it’s made of plastic, it’s pretty sturdy. The front side of the bottle only state the SK II brand in black and Facial Treatment Clearing Lotion in red. The full size is sold for 700,000-ish for 150 ml in a tall glass bottle CMIIW.

 

SK II Facial Treatment Clear LotionThe back side I believe contains more information, maybe about how to use it or the description. I’m sorry but I’m really blind about Japanese, I only know how to write and read “aishiteru” LOL Since I don’t want to guide you to the wrong way, I will just give up with the back side of the bottle xD

 

SK II Facial Treatment Clear Lotion

 

SK II Facial Treatment Clear LotionThe cap is a twist off type. After you twist open the cap, you will see a medium sized opening. I think the size of the opening is just right, not too big and not too small. I usually toppled the bottle 3 times each use. A 30 ml bottle can last me a good 1 month, and then I will have to ask for a refill from my mom’s huge FTCL bottle xD

Now, to the FTCL itself!

 

The color of the liquid and the consistency is more or less like water. I can’t seem to catch the scent of the product because I smell nothing even when I stick my nose to the bottle opening or when I’m applying this. The FTE has a weird acidic smell to it which might put off a lot of people, but this one doesn’t have any scent at all.

This toner does a really good job removing the remaining dirt, sebum, and foam residue on my face after I use my facial wash. It doesn’t break me out, it doesn’t cause me more blackheads, and I think this helps the next skincare product that I slap on my face to be absorbed faster.

Now, you’re probably asking why you should try this one when you already have a great toner at home. Try looking at the ingredients below and tell me if you see something that almost every toner have but the FTCL doesn’t.

Ingredients : Aqua (Water), Saccharomycopsis Ferment Filtrate*, Butylene Glycol, Polysorbate 20, Glycerin, Sodium Hyaluronate, PEG-150, Cellulose Gum, Disodium EDTA, Citric Acid, Salicylic Acid, Lactic Acid, Malic Acid, Sodium Citrate, Sodium Benzoate, Methylparaben

 

If you guess Alcohol, they you’re right. The FTCL doesn’t contain any alcohol. It does contain paraben as the last ingredients, but I believe it’s still below the limit line. We still need paraben to preserve liquids, and I don’t have a problem or allergy with it. If you don’t want any paraben, you will have to skip this one, though.

I’m not an anti-alcohol-in-skincare too, but I think the less alcohol I can use, the better. I also think my skin doesn’t like alcohol that much and I’m trying to use as little as I can. Without alcohol in the FTCL, it doesn’t sting even when I use it on my eyelid and near my eyes. I personally love this toner, and I’m planning to buy the full size after I buy my PS3 ^_^

 

Positive sides

  • No alcohol!
  • Contains Pitera
  • Doesn’t dry out my skin
  • Doesn’t break me out
  • Removes remaining dirt, sebum, and soap residue after I wash my face well
  • Doesn’t sting the eyes at all
  • Salicylic Acid is one of the ingredients, which is known to fight acnes!

Negative sides

  • Contains paraben, might be a big no for some people
  • Quite pricey

Rating : ♥♥♥♥♥ 5/5

Will I repurchase this? OF COURSE! I want to try the Wonderpore from Etude House, but I think this will be the best toner ever for me 🙂

 

So have you tried the SK II Facial Treatment Clear Lotion? Do you love it?

Or do you have another HG toner? Please share in the comments below, I’d love to try another toners ^_^

 

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “[Review] SK II Facial Treatment Clear Lotion

  1. OMG how I envy of you can try this lotion >.< well the concept of toner/lotion in Japan is really different with the usual concept that we know with western and korean brands 🙂 I'm thinking to try Etude wonder Pore as well but I still have a ton of toners from my dermatologist lol 😀
    thanks for the review, dear 🙂 so glad this toner works really well on you 🙂

    1. I’m glad I can try this toner too! And ever more glad that my skin is not against it hahaha
      Yep, Japan and Korea doesn’t use the word toner with the meaning “astringent” like in most brands. Wonderpore is said to suit all skin types, even the sensitive skin T_T But I’m not sure if my skin will like it or not 😦

  2. I have been going to Dermavogue for several years now. I always have a great experience with any procedure I have done. They are the best. They are great with what they do and always keep you up to date on new products and technology. Feel free to check them out at http://www.dermavogue.net

  3. I loveeee the FTCL. But they’re very expensive. I wonder if there is any similar toner to the FTCL with an affordable price. Any suggestions?

Leave a Reply

