Review

[Review] Maybelline Volume Express Turbo Boost Waterproof Mascara

Hello!

Since my Etude House mascara already dried up, I decided to try Maybelline’s mascara because seems like all their mascaras are wonderful. I went to the dept store and asked the SA for volumizing mascara because I’m already satisfied with the length of my lashes, but sadly they are not as thick as I want them to be. The SA recommended this one to me, and because it’s super cheap, I thought “why not?” and bought it right away xDD

Let’s start the review!

 

Maybelline Volume Express Turbo Boost Waterproof MascaraI got the Volume Express Turbo Boost Waterproof Mascara although I know this is not their latest product. I want to try the Magnum or The Falsies, but maybe next time 🙂

The packaging is simple and chic, black plastic bottle with silver plastic cap. It’s sealed with plastic wrap when I first bought it, so it’s definitely brand new. It’s very light and feels a bit cheap to me, I dunno why. I like the appearance, though. It has manufacture date printed on the bottle, check this when you buy it. If possible, ask for the newest one.

 

Maybelline Volume Express Turbo Boost Waterproof Mascara

Maybelline Volume Express Turbo Boost Waterproof MascaraThe cap is the usual twist off type like other mascaras. The shape of the wand is not something out of the ordinary. It’s a bit curved so it can give the curling effect on your lashes. I found this shape is easier to use because, either it’s a coincidence or not, the curve of the wand is almost the same as the curve of my eyes! I don’t mess up as much as I usually do with this wand. It takes the right amount of product to coat each lashes without clumping it. It can reach even the shorter lashes at the inner end without smearing my lids.

 

Maybelline Volume Express Turbo Boost Waterproof MascaraClick the photo for bigger picture!

Honestly, I’m not sure if I like this mascara or not. Well, obviously I don’t hate it. It doesn’t smudge as much as the Etude House on my eyes. It coats each lashes and even after 2-3 times building, my lashes don’t clump very much. On the picture above is what it looks like after one coat. You can definitely see the curling effect, and my lashes do look a bit thicker. I got no reason to hate this mascara TBH. A pretty good product for only 69,000 eh?

One coat of this mascara is enough for the natural look. You will still need to add false lashes if you want more dramatic effect. Oh one more important thing, it doesn’t irritate my eyes. Actually I bought this last month (you see it in my July haul) and it’s still doing good now.

Positive sides

  • Doesn’t clump the lashes too much
  • Easy application
  • Visible curling effect
  • Visible volumizing effect
  • Waterproof, but easy to remove with makeup remover
  • CHEAP!
  • Doesn’t irritate my eyes

Negative sides

  • I don’t like the smell but it’s not something I can’t handle

Rating: ♥♥♥♥♥ 5/5

Will I repurchase this? Yep, I don’t see any reasons not to repurchase this. I’m not crazy about this mascara, but this sure is good for the price 😀

 

Anyway, I will start my uni classes again on the 18th, and probably I will write more reviews as then because I find myself keep trying to do something else to avoid uni assignments LOL I already prepared some review plans, and hopefully more will be up next week 😀 I told you I bought the Etude House AC Clinic Hinoki Water Mist, right? I LOVE IT!! And I’ve been adding and omitting things to/from my skincare routine. By far, I love Paula’s Choice Gel Exfoliant. I use it maybe 2 times a week max at nigth and it helps with the acne scars. Or that’s what I think xD

So, have you tried this mascara? Any great mascara from Maybelline that I must try other than the Magnum and The Falsies? Comment down below! Your comments are all highly appreciated. ^_^

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “[Review] Maybelline Volume Express Turbo Boost Waterproof Mascara

  1. You should try the Magnum one (I dont remember the full name, the one that comes in yellow color) it does wonder to my thin lashes!! And I also love how the curve matches perfectly with my under lashes 😀
    It’s my holy grail mascara for sure hehe 🙂

    1. I think I saw the yellow one when I bought this. Is it waterproof, Jess?
      Bingung mau beli sekarang apa tunggu yg ini kering xD
      Soalnya ga tiap hari pake mascara juga sih jd takut keburu kering 😦

Leave a Reply

