Review

[Review] Kiehl’s Dermatologist Solutions Blemish Control Daily Skin-Clearing Treatment

HI! It’s been a year. Anyone miss me? Maybe not. Maybe you all think this blog is dead already hahahahaha. Sorry for my absence. I’m back now (hopefully!).

For my first post in 2015, I will review my most expensive face moisturizer ever. It works fine, I repurchased it twice (this is my 3rd tube) but I have my own reasons of why I’m not gonna purchase this anymore. You’ll find out in the future posts. And no, the reason is not because this product is bad.

Let’s go!

First, let’s talk about packaging because packaging represents the product itself. Kiehl’s is known to save the money that other companies spend for their beautiful packaging, and spend it on their product research. So don’t expect any pretty or amazing packaging for any of their products. But this doesn’t mean their packaging is cheap. No, they use pretty good packaging for their price.

KIehl's Dermatologist Solutions Blemish Control Daily Skin-Clearing TreatmentThis product comes in an off-white paper box. It’s pretty sturdy. This plain color somehow reminds me of the doctor’s lab coat, hence the dermatologist solutions line. Great job in delivering the image, Kiehl’s!

KIehl's Dermatologist Solutions Blemish Control Daily Skin-Clearing TreatmentKIehl's Dermatologist Solutions Blemish Control Daily Skin-Clearing Treatment

On the side you can see the ingredients and directions in different languages. Also the price tag, shelf life, etc.

KIehl's Dermatologist Solutions Blemish Control Daily Skin-Clearing TreatmentOn the back you can see the description and claims of what this product can do, along with the directions to use this in English and other languages. No Indonesian language, though. Doesn’t matter for me, I wrote this blog in English anyway HAHAHAHAHA.

KIehl's Dermatologist Solutions Blemish Control Daily Skin-Clearing Treatment

KIehl's Dermatologist Solutions Blemish Control Daily Skin-Clearing TreatmentThe product itself is in a white plastic tube. It’s as plain as a white paper. No ornaments or any fancy design. The tube is a regular tube with no fancy shapes and colors. This product claims to be Clinically Demonstrated to Clear Blemish and Allow Skin Healing While Helping to Reduce the Appearance of Marks” and contains Salicylic Acid with LHA and Dioic Acid. What the heck are all these acids? I’ll explain in the paragraph below. If you don’t care or if you already know, you can skip the next 3 paragraphs!

Salicylic Acid is basically an acidic substance that is used to treat various skin problems, such as acne, psoriasis, ichthyosis, calluses, and to prevent the forming of acne itself. This acid works by reducing the swell and redness of the acne, and softening the dry skin so it can fall off easily. This acid comes from Willow tree.

LHA or Beta-Lipohydroxy Acid is a derivative form of salicylic acid. This acid works as an anti-aging and anti-acne. It prevents the forming of microcomedones, which can be the first form of acne. It helps to clear the skin as the salicylic acid clears the acne. Think of it as the acid that removes the tiny bumps on your skin before it changes form into an acne.

Dioic Acid or Dicarboxylic Acid is the acid that helps to reduce hyperpigmentation or dark spots. It also helps to reduce the excess sebum production and kills the bacteria that causes acne.

KIehl's Dermatologist Solutions Blemish Control Daily Skin-Clearing Treatment

KIehl's Dermatologist Solutions Blemish Control Daily Skin-Clearing Treatment

KIehl's Dermatologist Solutions Blemish Control Daily Skin-Clearing TreatmentOn the back of the tube you will find the shelf life, the website, and directions of how to apply this treatment. To be honest I never read this XD It states that if you experience peeling, you should reduce the use from daily to once every other day. I personally use this twice a day in thin layer. It doesn’t feel moisturizing enough on my oily skin, so people with drier skin will need to slap another layer of moisturizer before/after this.

KIehl's Dermatologist Solutions Blemish Control Daily Skin-Clearing TreatmentIt comes with a twist cap. I don’t have any particular feeling to the packaging, but it gives me the vibe of medical stuffs. It smells kinda like medical creams, but nothing like a hospital smell. I personally like the smell because to me it has a sterile feeling. You can still smell it during and after you apply it on your face, but it’s not that strong. I don’t really like flowery/sweet scent on skincare because I don’t want any fragrance on my face. If it smells bad, then you gotta take it or leave it. If it works wonders, I’ll take the bad smell LOL

KIehl's Dermatologist Solutions Blemish Control Daily Skin-Clearing TreatmentThe texture is a thin cream, but nowhere near gel. It’s easy to spread and easily absorbed by my oily skin. However it leaves a “dewy” finish on the skin, even after 10 minutes. It doesn’t feel sticky at all, though. You know how some creams are sticky to the touch even after minutes, right? This one is not one of those creams. I use this cream as the last step on my night routine, and the last step before sunscreen on my day routine.

KIehl's Dermatologist Solutions Blemish Control Daily Skin-Clearing TreatmentAs you can see, it’s not sticky at all!

Now, I do experience a bit of purging for the first 2-3 weeks I guess, but after that my skin gets better. Not to the point of I go “WOW!” when I look at the mirror, but it does prevent acne and heals the current ones. I guess with continuous use, this can really help. One tube can lasts for 3-4 months for me, and note that I use this twice a day. So in the end it’s not really really expensive. I’m currently back to using this again, just to use it all up so I can throw it away. I will still go back to this if I’m in desperate need of moisturizer.

Positive sides

  • A little goes a long way so it lasts long
  • Does what it claims
  • No peeling on my skin
  • Samples on every purchase
  • Medical smell which I love
  • Doesn’t break me out
  • No leaks on the packaging because the hole is small

Negative sides

  • A little expensive if you want to try it for the first time since you don’t know this will suit you or not
  • Medical smell which some people hate
  • Not moisturizing enough
  • A little purging on my skin, but I don’t mind after seeing the result.

Rating : ♥♥♥♥ 4/5

Will I repurchase this? Yes, if I’m in desperate need of moisturizer. Beside that, probably no. But this is a good moisturizer so I don’t regret anything hehehe

Sorry, no before-after pictures. I forgot to take one. But I will give a 2 months before-after in the next post along with my current skincare routine. I also have to scratch some of the posts on my upcoming posts list because I already use up the products and I have none left to review with hahahahaha. I will also start posting my top products for skin and body care so stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

