Review

[Review] Maybelline Color Sensational Moisture Extreme Lip Color in B42 Buff

Heloooooo~

Another lip product review! Looks like this month wil be filled with lip product reviews hahahaha I hope you don’t mind. This is also not a new release btw. Anyway, let’s go!

Maybelline Color Sensational Moisture Extreme Lip Color in B42 Buff

This is the Maybelline Color Sensational Moisture Extreme Lip Color in the color B42 Buff. I got this from my beauty subscription box last year, but I actually haven’t wear it because it’s a bit dark. The colour of the bullet is exactly as the picture. This is the first time I get the exact colour of a product! Hahaha It’s definitely not in “new” condition in the picture, because I have tried it a couple of times.

It comes in a plastic bronze packaging. Nothing too fancy about the packaging. It feels light, the cap “clicks” to the bottom so it won’t easily come off. Although it’s very light, it doesn’t feel flimsy.

Maybelline Color Sensational Moisture Extreme Lip Color in B42 Buff

The swatch on the hand looks like this. On the top swatch, I applied 2-3 coats evenly to the area. It has a good coverage. It has a glossy finish (not shimmery or frosty!). It glides easily, but it feels a bit “heavy” on the lips. You will feel that you have lipstick on your lips. The bottom swatch is a light, one layer swipe. You can dab it on the lips to get a sheer finish, which is how I like this lipstick on me. It smells like wax, beeswax I guess. There is no sweet or fruity or floral scent on this lipstick.

Maybelline Color Sensational Moisture Extreme Lip Color in B42 Buff

The colour is a bit off in the picture. It’s has a little bit more brownish tone in real life. It’s a bit dark, not the colour I would wear everyday because this makes my face looks older OTL

As you can see, my bare lips is a bit pale, so I can’t say much about the coverage of the lipstick. But I think the coverage is pretty good, since the colour payoff on the hand swatch is very pigmented. It stained my hand (and lips) a bit so you will still have a bit of colour left even when the lipstick is gone.

However, because of the glossy finish, this lipstick is easily smeared. It will definitely leave a lip mark. You will need to retouch after you eat or drink. It’s pretty long lasting, about 3-5 hours on my lips, depending on the temperature/humidity and how thick I apply it.

About the mosturizing properties, I will say that this doesn’t dry out my lips. As I said, it feels a bit heavy on the lips, especially if you’re applying a full coverage.

Positive sides

  • Moisturizing
  • Unscented (in case your lips are allergic to fragrance)
  • Easy to find!
  • Glossy finish
  • Good coverage
  • Glides easily

Negative sides

  • Feels a bit heavy on the lips
  • Makes my face looks older if I apply a full coat OTL

Rating : ♥♥♥♥ 4/5

Will I repurchase this? Well, no. Because I have another lipstick that I LOVE now (will review it later!), although it’s on the more expensive side. But this is a good start if you want to find out whether certain colours will suit you or not!

Leave a Reply

