Review · SPONSORED

[Sponsored Review] KOSE Sekkisei Lotion

EDIT: I ACTUALLY FORGOT OMG! HAPPY NEW YEAR TO YOU WHO READ MY BLOG OR EVEN JUST THIS POST!!! May 2016 be an awesome year for all of us. I’ll try my best to update the blog regularly so it won’t be dead like last year XD Since I have a lot of stuffs to try and review now, I won’t be running out of it for quite a long time hahahaha

If you read my KOSE event report on December 2015, you must know that I received 2 products to review (and actually purchase more). Instead of writing one single post for both, I decided to split it into 2 different post because I personally think they deserve their own post. Maybe you can already guess where this review is going already LOL

So I’ve been using KOSE Sekkisei Lotion, Sekkisei Emulsion (which will be the last KOSE product I’ll review for now), and Kose Clear Whitening Mask (which I will review right after this) diligently for almost 3 weeks now. And I’ve been taking pictures of my face every week, both for review purpose and so I can see whether it changes anything or not.

This specific KOSE Sekkisei Lotion claims that it can improves skin texture, reduce pigmentation & freckles, and refines pore troubles. It penetrates deeply into skin to reduce dullness and creating an even glow. It also enhances skin metabolism to prevent dullness and brightens skin tone instantly. That’s a whole lot of amazing things to claim, isn’t it? Can it actually live up to its claims?

First, let’s take a quick look at the packaging first.

20151231_190150_zpsp884dqa9
It comes in a clear royal blue plastic bottle which makes it easy to know how much you have left. The screw cap is made of white plastic with silver lining on top. Since I love blue, I love KOSE’s Sekkisei packaging. This whole Sekkisesi line use blue, white, and silver on their packaging. As you can see, I’m already half way done on my current bottle (the one on the left).

20151231_190224_zps8jjkdvlp
The packaging is very simple, but mine is in 100 ml version so I don’t know how different the 200 ml and 360 ml version one looks like. I’ll let you know if I ever buy or pay closer attention to them. The front side of the bottle only have the KOSE brand and the Kanji and romanized Sekkisei.

20151231_190242_zpsbqnnj2io
The back side only has the KOSE brand logo and such informations. As you can kinda guess from the photos, the product is actually a milky white colour. The consistency is just like water, or your regular toner. Japanese refer these toners as lotions.

20151231_190321_zpszdz6cmod
After you screw off the cap, you can see the opening of the bottle. It’s not too big or small, just the right size IMO. I never experience any leak or spill during the 3 weeks of using this.

Now, the KOSE Sekkisei Lotion has a kinda strong medical (or alcohol?) scent, which is totally cool for me. I actually love the scent. But if you’re sensitive to scents, I won’t recommend you this. Despite the medical scent, I never experience any stings even when I use it on my acne or currently-popped-acne. I guess it doesn’t come from the amount of alcohol in this? I have no idea but I just love the scent.

The recommended way to use this is to pour it on a cotton pad, and pat the cotton pad on your face lightly. They said to pat it 100 times, but ain’t nobody got time for counting while patting! At least not me. I just pat it until the cotton gets kinda dry, about 45-60 seconds maybe. Don’t forget to bring it down to your jawline and neck area as well!

This product has a cooling sensation, and for my oily skin it’s moisturizing enough. Not to the point that I don’t have to apply anything else, but it just feels right, you know what I mean? I apply the KOSE Sekkisei Emulsion after and I love how my skin feels!

Now, I’m sure you’re curious of the result, right? Behold the bare face!

20151212_191050_zpsnl34wcbd
(Click or bigger image)

20151212_191022_zpsmwye0vvv
(Click for bigger image)

20151212_191120_zpsg0hbmpw1
(Click for bigger image)

As you can judge by yourself from the before-after pictures, my face actually gets better. You can see clearly on the side shots that a lot of the acne scars are actually fading. I like to think that this KOSE Sekkisei Lotion actually helps my skin in baby steps, like repairing the skin from the inside, so I’ll continue using this and update you guys about a month after today.

And so far it hasn’t cause me any major break out. To be honest, I currently have a huge acne on my right jaw. It appeared on the 27th LOL but I don’t think it’s because of this product. I’ve been lacking sleep, lacking water intake, and taking some medications.

As about the amazing claims, this product actually does everything it claims. It would be super amazing if this product can treat acnes too, but since it doesn’t aggravate my acne I’ll still use this! This is by far one of the very few product with brightening/whitening properties that works AND doesn’t break me out.

And by the way, you can use this as a mask if you want. Just pour this over the compressed mask tablets and leave it on your face for 10-15 minutes. I’ll try that some other time when I already have the mask tablets XD

Positive sides

  • Does what it claims to do
  • Moisturizing enough for my oily skin
  • Doesn’t sting
  • Can be used on the eye area safely
  • LOVE the scent!
  • Cooling effect on skin
  • Doesn’t break me out
  • Available in department stores

Negative sides

  • I want to say the price, but since this is sooo good, I think I’ll keep using this even if I have to stop binge-shopping XD It’s about IDR 299,000 or 399,000 for this size, I forgot. I know it’s a huge price difference, I’ll make sure of the price when I buy more!

Rating : ♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥ 10/5 I mean come on, can’t you see how much I love this? Hahahaha On a serious note, I’ll give this a 5/5

Will I repurchase this? Well DUH! Of course I will! This is a really great product, and I will recommend this to everyone. At least they have to try this. One of my friends also use this KOSE Sekkisei Lotion and Emulsion, and she’s also loving the combination!

Have you ever tried KOSE products before? My first KOSE product is their Softymo Cleansing Oil but this is my first time trying their higher end skincare products. I’m glad my skin loves them!

4 thoughts on “[Sponsored Review] KOSE Sekkisei Lotion

  1. Dear could you tell me where did you purchase this? I recently brought one exactly like yours from eBay seller Bonjourcosmetics, and it is total counterfeit product while comparing to the 24mL trial sample that I got when I was in Japan in November 2016. The packaging and the content are totally different. Maybe you should purchase the lotion from Kose official website if you are in US. Too bad there is no official distributor in Europe and that’s why I ordered it from eBay at the first place. Very disappointed by all these Asian counterfeit products!!! and will never buy cosmetics from Hong Kong, Taiwan or main land China. Take Care!

    1. Hiiii, I’m terribly sorry for the late response. I bought this from the Kose Event here in Indonesia. It’s an official event so I’m sure this is a legit product. I’m sorry that you get a fake one. It’s very irresponsible for them to even make a fake one. It might ruin other people’s face T_T There are a bunch of fake products of popular brands so we really have to be careful. But you can’t avoid it if you’re shopping online, right? T_T

      Thank you for the information, though. I REALLY, REALLY appreciate it. I’ll help spreading the awareness of fake products. I hope your skin is okay!

Leave a Reply

