Review · SPONSORED

[Sponsored Review] KOSE Sekkisei Clear Whitening Mask

So as promised, this time I will be reviewing the KOSE Sekkisei Clear Whitening Mask that I received along with theΒ KOSE Sekkisei Lotion.

This KOSE Sekkisei Clear Whitening Mask is a peel off mask, which claims to tighten pores, control sebum, removes sebum plugs, comedones, and other impurities which caused dullness.

20151231_190458_zpsffmqij3o
This is what the mask comes in. It has an outer box packaging. The mask itself is in a plastic squeeze tube. KOSE Sekkisei uses blue, white, and silver for their packaging which I really love!

20151231_190529_zpsma9mqate
The top of the box is in silver! It’s so shiny and reflective! It simply has the Sekkisei Kanji and romanized letters in white.

20151231_190548_zps2cqtzdu5
One side of the box has the English descriptions and instructions so it’s no problem even if you don’t understand Japanese!

20151231_190611_zps3usdhkqc
The back of the box is the product descriptions and instructions in Japanese. As for me, I can read Hiragana and Katakana, but I can’t read Kanji yet so this is pretty much useless for me XD

20151231_190626_zpsxuhpo6jg
The other side of the box has the ingredients list both in Japanese and English. It also has the Indonesian description and instructions.

20151231_190641_zpspkz98vjc
Here is a closer look on the ingredients list in case you want to read it. I don’t even bother reading it LOL It contain some alcohol, paraben, and fragrance.

20151231_190701_zps6cberekd
The back of the tube is printed with the instructions and some other informations. It contains 80 grams or 76 ml of products. The tube is not too hard or too soft. It’s easy to control the amount of product that you squeeze out.

20151231_190831_zpsz7466z0k
It has a screw off cap made of white plastic with silver lining just like the Sekkisei Lotion. The tube opening is in the right size too! It was sealed when you first open it but I already rip it off before I take pictures 😦 However, I’m not really fond of this opening. It would be better to have a stopper on the cap so the mask won’t leak anywhere. Well, not like I experience any leak, but if you don’t screw it tight enough, it CAN leak a bit. And the opening gets messy everytime I use this, I have to wipe it off with tissue afterwards.

20151231_192124_zpsf9cnscbr
Here is a preview of the mask texture. It’s actually a bit runny so it’s easy to spread. It can drip so you need to work a bit faster. However, once you spread it, it won’t budge so rest assured. It won’t be dripping off your face. I find it easier to peel off if I apply a bit thicker and don’t leave the edge thin. Thicken up some edges so it will be easy to peel off!

The mask also has a strong medicinal (or alcohol) scent, even stronger than the Sekkisei Lotion. It stays for a while until it starts to set. It also has a cooling effect when you first spread it on the skin. Then as it sets,Β your face will feel a bit tight.

Now let’s put this on the face!
1451653223928_zps9ceku7ub
(The mask is already set in this picture)

Please avoid your hair line, eyebrows, lips and eye area. Since this is a peel off mask, of course it hurts a bit when you peel it. My skin is a bit sensitive so I get a bit red afterwards but it’s not like lobster red. It’s gone after 20 minutes or so.

20160101_204931_zps966l0dgm
It doesn’t break into small pieces and easy to peel. There’s a hole over there near the mouth because I’m having a huge acne there. The photo before this one was taken last week. Peel the mask inwards from the outer parts of your face. IΒ peel it little by little to minimize the redness.

20160101_205022_zpsngquti5l

20160101_205253_zpsivqcnmyc
As you can see or not, it doesn’t pull a lot of blackhead or whitehead, but that’s because my skin is currently pretty clean. However, I do feel my skin becomes a bit softer after I use this. And it does pull off facial hairs so if you have a lot, it will hurt more.

Positive sides

  • Pull off blackhead and whitehead
  • Sets quite fast, around 20-30 minutes
  • Easy to peel off, just apply a bit thicker at the edge
  • Doesn’t break me out
  • Only leave me with a bit of redness

Negative sides

  • Contains alcohol, paraben, and perfume (not a problem for me)
  • Strong medicinal (or alcohol) scent which I actually love. But I know some people are sensitive to scents so I need to point this out.

Rating :Β β™₯β™₯β™₯ 3/5
Will I repurchase this? Most likely not, since I prefer to have a facial once a month. It’s more effective that way for me. But I do love how it pulls the blackhead and whitehead! So if I don’t have the facial option, I will buy this again!

Leave a Reply

